Llewellyn to return to NHRA at Mopar Mile-High Nationals

July 9, 2008 by  
Filed under NHRA

Peggy Llewellyn's long awaited return to NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle racing will happen this weekend at the NHRA's 29th Annual Mopar Mile-High Nationals at Bandimere Speedway in Denver, Colorado. Llewellyn will pilot a second entry for Matt Guidera's Rocklin Motorsports

Peggy Llewellyn finished fourth in NHRA championship points last year. Until the deal with Rocklin Motorsports, she had been unable to secure a suitable sponsorship deal, which has been quite surprising problem for such a popular and successful racer.

Llewellyn tested the Rocklin Motorsports S&S powered Buell at Route 66 Raceway on the Monday following the Torco Racing Fuels Route 66 NHRA Nationals. According to NHRA, Llewellyn's second pass of 7.07 seconds elapsed time was good enough to have qualified fifth that weekend had she been entered in that weekend's race. Peggy has obviously not lost her edge.

NHRA has posted an interview with Peggy at this link.

Congratulations Peggy!

NHRA has shortened the racing distance for the Top Fuel Dragster and Fuel Funny Car classes to 1,000 feet. The NHRA's 29th Annual Mopar Mile-High Nationals and an unspecified number of future races will run the shorter distance for the two fastest classes as an interim safety measure, pending the conclusions and recommendations resulting from an investigation into the death of Funny Car driver Scott Kalitta during the 39th annual NHRA Lucas Oil SuperNationals at Englishtown, NJ. The Pro Stock Motorcycle class (PSM), Pro Stock, and other NHRA classes will continue to race the traditional 1,320 foot (quarter mile) distance. Hopefully, any future improvements to the shutdown areas, safety nets, and sand traps to safely slow the nitro cars will also improve safety for the Pro Stock Motorcycle riders.

Here's the PSM Entry list for the 29th Annual Mopar Mile-High Nationals:

Driver Make Sponsor
Matt Smith '05 Buell Nitrofish/Redline Oil/MSR
Andrew Hines '07 HD V-Rod Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines
Chip Ellis '03 Suzuki Schumacher Electric Suzuki
Peggy Llewellyn '07 Buell Rocklin/Mohegan Sun Buell
Angelle Sampey '07 Buell Rush Racing Products
Craig Treble '98 Suzuki GSXR Team Tigue Suzuki
Ed Krawiec '07 HD V-Rod Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines
Karen Stoffer '03 Suzuki GEICO Motorcycle
Steve Johnson '03 Suzuki Snap On Tools
Matt Guidera '05 Buell Rocklin Motorsports
Chris Rivas '07 Buell Drag Specialties/S&S/G2
Junior Pippin '07 Buell Pirana Z
Hector Arana '07 Buell Lucus Oil Products
Ryan Schnitz '07 Kawasaki Team Muzzy Kawasaki Trim-Tex
Mike Berry '03 Suzuki M B Precision Machining Inc.
David Hope '05 Buell VROOM Racing


Comments are closed.