Matt Smith wins in Denver and Peggy Llewellyn returns in good form

July 13, 2008 by  
Filed under Articles

Matt Smith defeated Steve Johnson to win the NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series, 29th annual Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals at Bandimere Speedway in Denver, Colorado. Smith rode his NitroFish/Torco Buell to a 7.326 second elapsed time at 180.74 MPH with a reaction time of 0.005, beating Steve Johnson's 7.340 second E.T. at 180.81 MPH with a 0.043 reaction time. Steve Johnson defeated Eddie Krawiec in the semi-final round when Krawiec's Harley-Davidson broke at the line.

Matt Smith made his way to the final round by defeating Peggy Llewellyn in the semi. Smith ran a 7.370 second E.T. at 181.06 MPH compared to Llewellyn's 7.529 second E.T. at 176.19 MPH. Matt's reaction time was 0.048 to Peggy's 0.040. This was Peggy Llewellyn's first race this year and she returned in fine form. Llewellyn has had to sit most of the season out because she has been unable to secure a title sponsor so far. Peggy joined forces with Matt Guidera of Rocklin Motorsports for a two race deal covering Denver and Sonoma. Peggy is riding a Rocklin Motorsports S&S powered Buell for both races, while she and Guidera make a serious push to secure a sponsor for her to race with for the race of the season.

Guidera and Llewellyn have created a unique program where you can sponsor their bikes. Visit the Rocklin Motorsports sponsoship page for more details on how you can sponsor Peggy or Matt's racing.

Editor's note: When this article was originally published, it erroneously reported Steve Johnson as winning the Mile-High Nationals. We goofed up.


Comments are closed.