Crowded Field for the Mac Tools U.S. Nationals

August 28, 2008 by  
Filed under NHRA

The Pro Stock Motorcycle field for this weekend’s NHRA Mac Tools U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis is shaping up to be the most competitive of the year. The high fuel costs for traveling to races and difficulties securing title sponsors to help defray the costs has reduced the entry list for many of the NHRA races. This weekend is different, as 27 riders are on the entry list fight for 16 qualifying spots. The entry list includes the series regulars such as, Matt Smith and Andrew Hines, but also includes new riders and single event entries.

Peggy Llewellyn returns to Indy with a one race sponsorship deal from Roger Burgess’ R2B2 Motors multi-vehicle team. The multi-car team includes team owner Roger Burgess driving in Pro Mod, along with Joe Baker. Melanie Troxel and Frank Hawley will drive the team’s two Funny Car entries. Llewellyn rounds out the team with her Pro Stock Motorcycle entry on a Matt Guidera / Rocklin Motorsports prepped Buell. This will be Llewellyn’s third race this year, following her Denver and Sonoma entries. Peggy ended last year fourth place in the championship points.

AHDRA racer Valerie Thompson is set to make her NHRA debut at Indy on her new bike. She’s been testing her S&S powered EYE-ON Buell in Union Grove, Wisconsin in preparation for her debut. NHRA has reported her best test run as a 7.14 second E.T. at 186.14 MPH. Thompson’s Crew Chief is former NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle racer Gary Tonglet, Sr.

Craig Treble will be racing with a new team after his sudden departure from Team Tigue ten days ago. He will race at Indy for Don Schumacher Racing on the Albrecht's Fast Track Suzuki. Chip Ellis will continue to race for Don Schumacher Racing on the Schumacher Electric Suzuki. Ellis currently sits third in the championship points and Treble is in the eighth spot. Ellis will also compete in the Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle on Saturday.

The entry list for this weekend's Mac Tools U.S. Nationals, courtesy of

Andrew Hines HD V-ROD Screamin Eagle/Vance & Hines
Angelle Sampey Buell S&S Rush Racing Products
Angie McBride Buell S&S **************
Buddy Robinson Suzuki GSXR Robinson Racing
Chip Ellis Suzuki Schumacher Electric Suzuki
Chris Rivas Buell S&S Drag Specialties / S&S / G2
Craig Treble TL1000R Albrecht's Fast Track Suzuki
Darin McCurdy Suzuki G&M Racing
David Hope Buell S&S Vroom Racing Buell
Ed Krawiec HD V-ROD Screamin Eagle/Vance & Hines
Hector Arana Buell S&S Lucus Oil Products
James Underdahl Suzuki Fast Lane Sports/TVT24/7
Joe Desantis Suzuki GSXR Team Joey D
Junior Pippin Buell S&S Pirana Z
Karen Stoffer Suzuki Geico Motorcycle
Mac McAdams TL1000R Classic Collision Motorsport
Matt Guidera Buell S&S Rocklin Motorsports
Matt Smith Buell S&S Nitrofish/Redline Oil/MSR
Michael Phillips Suzuki GSXR MPR & Damn Sport
Mike Berry Suzuki M B Precision Machining Inc.
Peggy Llewellyn Buell S&S R2B2 Motors / Rocklin Buell
Redell Harris Buell Master P/ Laron Landry
Ryan Schnitz Kawasaki Team Muzzy Kawasaki Trim-Tex
Shawn Gann Suzuki Racegirl/Master Cam
Steve Johnson Suzuki Snap On Tools
Valerie Thompson Buell S&S Eye On
Wesley Wells Suzuki Kendall


Comments are closed.