Steve Johnson Wins the 54th annual Mac Tools U.S. Nationals

September 1, 2008 by  
Filed under NHRA

Pro Stock Motorcycle racer Steve Johnson rode his Snap-On Tools Suzuki to victory at the NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series, 54th annual Mac Tools U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis, Indiana. Johnson beat Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle winner Andrew Hines in the final round with a 7.034 second E.T. at 189.79 MPH, to Hines’ 7.063 second E.T. at 187.63 MPH. Hines’ 0.009-second reaction time was better than Johnson’s 0.030-second reaction, but it wasn’t enough to make up for the speed difference at the end.

Several of the Suzuki riders have finally found the horsepower they need to be competitive with the V-twin Harley-Davidsons and Buells, as evidenced by three of four semi-finalists were on Suzukis. Steve Johnson’s Snap-On Suzuki dispatched Craig Treble’s Albrecht's Fast Track Suzuki in the semi-final, with his 7.106 E.T. at 185.18 MPH. to Treble’s 7.171 E.T. at 182.53 MPH. This was Treble’s first race after joining the Don Schumacher Racing team two weeks ago. Mike Berry’s M B Precision Machining Suzuki also made it to he semi-final round. Berry’s 0.017-second reaction time couldn’t make up for his 7.202 E.T. at 181.81 MPH against the 7.112 E.T. at 185.56 MPH run by Hines and his V-ROD.

ESPN2 will broadcast the eliminations round from 7:00 PM to 10:00 PM ET on September 1st and will replay the eliminations at 2:00 AM to 4:00:00 AM ET on 09/05/2008.

The qualifying order for Monday’s race was:
Matt Smith NitroFish / Torco Buell 6.932 191.16
Hector Arana Lucas Oil Buell 6.954 190.67
Andrew Hines Screamin' Eagle / Vance & Hines 6.969 191.92
Chris Rivas Drag Specialties / S&S / G2 Buell 6.970 190.81
Steve Johnson Snap-On Tools Suzuki 6.984 192.03
Angelle Sampey Rush Racing Products Buell 6.987 188.65
Eddie Krawiec Screamin' Eagle / Vance & Hines 6.990 191.02
Chip Ellis Schumacher Electric Suzuki 7.022 190.27
Craig Treble Albrecht's Fast Track Suzuki 7.033 190.43
Mike Berry MB Precision Machining Suzuki 7.034 189.28
Angie McBride Indicom Electric Buell 7.048 186.92
Joe DeSantis Alamo City Suzuki 7.052 191.43
Matt Guidera Rocklin Motorsports Buell 7.058 187.44
Peggy Llewellyn R2B2 Motors / Rocklin Buell 7.062 187.31
Karen Stoffer Geico Suzuki 7.071 188.83
Michael Phillips Phillips Racing Suzuki 7.072 190.11

Riders that did not qualify (DNQ) for the U.S. Nationals:
Shawn Gann Race Girl/Pure Power Suzuki 7.072 190.14
Wes Wells Ray Skillman Perf. Parts Suzuk 7.078 189.71
Junior Pippin Stone Mountain & Granite 7.098 187.11
Mountain HD Buell
David Hope R&J Racing Buell 7.105 186.15
Mac McAdams Classic Collision Motorsport Suzuki 7.145 186.64
Jim Underdahl Fast Lane Sports/TVT24/7 Suzuki 7.184 185.82
Redell Harris Master P/Laron Laundry Buell 7.192 185.92
Valerie Thompson Eye-On Buell 7.195 182.45
Darin McCurdy G&M Racing Suzuki 7.311 180.65
Buddy Robinson Fast Lane Sports/Questec Suzuki 7.416 179.78
Ryan Schnitz Team Muzzy Kawasaki 10.061 176.01


Comments are closed.