Chip Ellis Fast Qualifier at O’Reilly Mid-South Nationals – Memphis

September 27, 2008 by  
Filed under NHRA

Chip Ellis was the fastest qualifier in the Pro Stock Motorcycle class at the NHRA POWERade 21st annual O'Reilly Mid-South Nationals presented by Pennzoil in Memphis, TN. Ellis ran his Schumacher Electric / XXX Racing Fuels Suzuki to a 6.910 second elapsed time (E.T.) at 191.10 MPH to secure the top spot during the third round of qualifying Saturday morning. Chip Ellis was the top qualifier at last year ‘s Memphis race, setting both track time and speed records of a 6.892 E.T. and 193.21 MPH speed. On Sunday, Ellis will face GT Tonglet and his GT Motorsports Buell in the first elimination round. Ellis is currently sitting sixth in the POWERade Championship Points, 105 points behind points leader Matt Smith.

Last weekend’s race winner, Chris Rivas qualified second with a 6.970 second E.T. at 187.50 MPH. His first round on Sunday will be against Junior Pippin. Rivas’ win at the Fall Nationals moved him five spots in the Championship Points where he now stands third. Ed Krawiec, currently second in points, qualified seventh on his Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines Harley Davidson V-ROD. Krawiec will face Hector Arana in tomorrow’s first round of eliminations. Matt Smith qualified third for Sunday’s race when he ran his NitroFish / Torco Buell to a 6.987 E.T. at 187.91 MPH during Friday’s second round of qualifying.

Matt Guidera missed qualifying his Rocklin Motorsports Buell for the field by 0.055 seconds. David Hope and Redell Harris also did not qualify. Shawn Gann had the speed to make the field with his 7.057 E.T. at 187.83 MPH, but was disqualified from competition.

ESPN2 will broadcast Qualifying from 10:30 PM to 12:30 AM ET on Saturday 9/27/2008, Eliminations will be broadcast on Sunday, 9/28/2008 from 7:00 PM to 10:00 PM ET. Eliminations will be rebroadcast on Thursday, Ocotber 9th from 3:00 AM to 5:00 AM ET.

Sunday's first round pairings with qualifying stats:
Rider Sponsor / Bike ET Speed
Chip Ellis Schumacher Electric / 6.910 191.10
XXX Racing Fuels Suzuki
GT Tonglet GT Motorsports Buell 7.089 185.97

Chris Rivas Drag Specialties / S&S / G2 Buell 6.970 187.50
Junior Pippin Stone Mountain & Granite 7.083 184.25
Mountain HD Buell

Matt Smith NitroFish / Torco Buell 6.987 187.91
Mike Berry MB Precision Machining Suzuki 7.071 186.72

Andrew Hines Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines HD 6.992 189.66
Joe DeSantis Javelina H-D & Green H-D Suzuki 7.071 187.26

Steve Johnson Snap-On Tools Suzuki 6.996 188.28
Angie McBride Indicom Electric Buell 7.061 184.02

Karen Stoffer Geico Suzuki 7.000 188.38
Angelle Sampey Rush Racing Products Buell 7.024 185.61

Eddie Krawiec Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines HD 7.002 190.19
Hector Arana Lucas Oil Buell 7.024 188.25

Craig Treble Albrecht's Fast Track Suzuki 7.014 188.12
Michael Phillips Phillips Racing Suzuki 7.015 192.47

Timing data courtesy of NHRA


Comments are closed.