Chris Rivas Wins in Vegas, Matt Smith Holds Point Lead

November 3, 2008 by  
Filed under NHRA

Chris Rivas won the NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle class at AC Delco NHRA Las Vegas Nationals on Sunday. Rivas' Drag Specialties S&S Buell V-Twin ran a 7.052 E.T. at 185.79 MPH in the final round to defeat Eddie Krawiec and his Screamin' Eagle / Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson VROD. Rivas remains third in POWERade Championship points and is just 39 points behind points leader Matt Smith. The win by Rivas tightened the points race, reducing Smith's lead from 79 points. Krawiec's final round appearance also helped him edge closer to a possible championship. Krawiec remains second in the Countdown to One, but he reduced Smith's lead from 42 points to just 19 points with one race left in the season.

Angelle Sampey was the event's quickest qualifier when her Rush Racing Products Buell set a track elapsed time record of 6.993 seconds in qualifying on Friday. Sampey improved on that time with a 6.980 E.T. at 188.17 MPH run in the first round against Junior Pippin and his Stone Mountain & Granite Mountain Harley-Davidson Buell, which ran 7.043 E.T. at 187.05 MPH. In the second round of eliminations, Sampey redlighted and gave the win to Andrew Hines. Sampey is 118 points behind Smith and remains fourth in championship points. Andrew Hines redlighted in the semi-final round against Chris Rivas. Hines performance this weekend edged out Steve Johnson for the fifth position in the points standings.

Eddie Krawiec defeated Shawn Gann and his new X-Treme Rebellion / XXX Racing Fuel S&S-powered Buell in the first round with a 7.040 E.T. at 189.23 MPH to Gann's 7.108 E.T. at 181.59 MPH. Krawiec then went on to defeat Mike Berry and his MB Precision Machining Suzuki with a 7.078 E.T. at 187.34 MPH (.003 reaction time) to Berry's 12.699 E.T. at 66.36 MPH (.006 reaction time). Krawiec won the next round against Matt Smith with another quick reaction time. Krawiec ran a 7.042 E.T. at 189.34 MPH to Smith's quicker 7.039 E.T. at 186.41 MPH, but took the semi-final round win with a .005 reaction time against Smith's .022 reaction time.

ESPN 2 will replay eliminations on Friday 11/7/08 from 2:00 AM to 4:00 AM ET.


Comments are closed.