Matt Smith Fastest Qualifier at Pomona Finals

November 16, 2008 by  
Filed under NHRA

Matt Smith took the number one qualifying spot on his NitroFish / Torco Race Fuels Buell at the 44th annual Automobile Club of Southern California NHRA Finals at Pomona. Smith started the weekend with a 19 point lead in the Countdown to One championship points. Smith will race Mike Berry on his MB Precision Machining Suzuki in the first round.

Eddie Krawiec is currently second in the points race and qualified his Screamin' Eagle / Vance & Hines V-ROD second this weekend. Krawiec’s 6.987 second E.T. keeps him well within striking distance of the championship. Krawiec will race Peggy Llewellyn on her Rocklin Motorsports Buell in the first round.

Chris Rivas qualified his Drag Specialties / S&S / G2 Buell eighth this weekend with 7.094 second E.T. Rivas is third in points, which is just 39 points behind the leader Matt Smith. Rivas is with in range of winning the championship if he has a good race today. Rivas goes against Junior Pippin in the first round match up.

Hector Arana qualified his Lucas Oil Buell third this weekend with a 6.996 second E.T and is one three riders to make it under the 7 second mark. Arana just missed the Countdown to One cutoff and can do no better than eleventh in points, but he could be a spoiler for the top three riders in contention for the championship. Arana takes on Michael Phillips and his Phillips Racing Suzuki in the first round of eliminations.

Angelle Sampey qualified her Rush Racing Products Buell fourth and is sitting fourth in Countdown to One points. Sampey is out of contention for the championship, but could be a spoiler for one of the other three. Craig Treble will race his Albrecht's Fast Track Suzuki against Sampey in Sunday’s first round.

The riders who didn’t make the field this weekend are: Matt Guidera - Rocklin Motorsports Buell, Valerie Thompson - Buell, Freddie Camarena - Embee/Clay Smith Cams Suzuki, James Surber - South County Cycles Buell, and Ryan Schnitz - Team Muzzy Kawasaki.

The Countdown to One Championship battle is between Matt Smith, Eddie Krawiec, and Chris Rivas as we begin the final race of the NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle season.

TV Schedule

ESPN2 will broadcast Eliminations from 7:00 PM to 10:00 PM ET on Sunday November 16, and will rebroadcast Eliminations from 2:00 AM to 4:00 AM ET on November 21. The final Awards Ceremony will be broadcast on ESPN2 on November 30 from 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM ET.

First round elimination pairings with qualifying time and speed:

Matt Smith NitroFish/Torco Buell 6.962 188.86
Mike Berry MB Precision Machining Suzuki 7.148 184.14

Eddie Krawiec Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines 6.987 189.55
Peggy Llewellyn Rocklin Motorsports Buell 7.146 182.43

Hector Arana Lucas Oil Buell 6.996 191.29
Michael Phillips Phillips Racing Suzuki 7.135 189.02

Angelle Sampey Rush Racing Products Buell 7.003 185.49
Craig Treble Albrecht's Fast Track Suzuki 7.134 185.84

Karen Stoffer Geico Suzuki 7.015 187.39
Angie McBride Indicom Electric Buell 7.117 183.12

Andrew Hines Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines 7.027 188.83
Shawn Gann Race Girl/Pure Power Buell 7.110 183.19

Chip Ellis Schumacher Electric Suzuki 7.049 187.31
Steve Johnson Snap-On Tools Suzuki 7.107 186.56

Junior Pippin Stone Mountain 7.057 184.75
& Granite Mountain HD Buell
Chris Rivas Drag Specialties/S&S/G2 Buell 7.094 183.02


Comments are closed.