Hector Arana Wins PSM at Gatornationals in Gainesville

March 15, 2009 by  
Filed under NHRA

Hector Arana and his Lucas Oil Buell, beat fast qualifier Matt Smith in the final round for the Pro Stock Motorcycle win at the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series, 40th annual ACDelco NHRA Gatornationals. From his very first run on Friday, Smith had been a dominant force in Gainesville this weekend, but Arana ran flawlessly Sunday.

Hector Arana qualified second with 6.957 E.T. at 191.40 MPH, which put him up against Junior Pippin on his Stone Mountain & Granite Mountain Harley Davidson Buell in the first round. Pippin had problems at half track and had little chance against Arana’s scorching 6.935 E.T. at 192.66 MPH.

Douglas Horne of Horne Racing made his NHRA PSM eliminations debut, but his 7.066 E.T. at 185.31 MPH with a 0.024 reaction time, was not enough to beat Angie McBride’s quick 6.994 E.T. at 188.10. McBride’s reaction time was 0.052.

In the second round of eliminations, Arana was up against PSM champion and seventh place qualifier Eddie Krawiec on his Screamin' Eagle / Vance & Hines Harley Davidson V-Rod. Arana ran 6.942 E.T. at 191.84 with a 0.036 react time, beating Krawiec’s 7.031 E.T. at 188.89 MPH with a 0.013 reaction time. Another rider with a round two upset was Angie McBride, who lost to Andrew Hines when her NitroFish /MSR /Redline Oil Buell broke at the line.

Shawn Gann was having a great weekend on his Mastercam Buell, until he had to face Arana in the third round. Gann beat Craig Treble in the first round of eliminations. He then went on to beat third place qualifier Karen Stoffer on her Geico Suzuki. Gann’s great day was no match for Arana’s flawless performance. Hector ran a 6.981 E.T. at 192.17 MPH with a 0.120 reaction time, beating Shawn’s respectable 7.052 at 188.25 MPH, despite his 0.050 reaction time.

Matt Smith first round win against Ryan Schnitz on his Team Muzzy Kawasaki came easily when Schnitz left 0.014 too early, triggering a redlight. Smith then ran a 7.021 E.T. at 186.82 MPH, defeating Steve Johnson’s Wyotech Suzuki which ran 7.083 E.T. at 188.33 MPH, with an impressive 0.020 reaction time. In the third round, Smith faced off against Andrew Hines. Smith’s dominance continued as he dispatched Hines. Hines ran a 7.119 E.T. at 185.08 MPH with a 0.019 reaction time, but Smith ran a better 7.039 E.T. at 187.86 MPH with a 0.048 reaction time.

To get the win in the final round, Arana ran a 6.977 second E.T, at 191.4 MPH with a 0.076 reaction time, besting Matt Smith’s 7.133 second run at 185.51 MPH on his Nitrofish Suzuki. The win earns Arana his second Wally and starts his Pro Stock Motorcycle season on a high note.


Comments are closed.