Doug Horne Top Qualifier at Route 66 Nationals

June 7, 2009 by  
Filed under Articles, NHRA

Doug Horne, riding his Horne Racing Buell, was the number one qualifier in Pro Stock Motorcycle for Sunday's NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series, 12th annual United Association Route 66 NHRA Nationals in Chicago, IL. Horne ran 6.936 second elapsed time at 191.84 MPH in the first round of qualifying on Friday. Horne will face off in the first round of eliminations on Sunday against Wesley Wells on his Kendall Suzuki.

This is the first weekend with the new weight rule for Harley Davidson powered bikes. The rule increased the minimum weight of the four valve Harley's from 620 pounds to 640 pounds. Buell powered bikes still have a 625 pound minimum weight and Suzuki bikes remain at 595 pounds. As a result of the new weight rule, the two fastest qualifiers were on Buells, and the next two fastest were on Suzukis. Andrew Hines qualified fifth on his Screamin' Eagle Vance & Hines Harley Davidson, with a 6.989 second E.T. at 191 MPH. Only the top five bikes broke the seven second barrier in qualifying.

Rookie Katie Sullivan qualified 14th for the Route 66 Nationals on Saturday. Sullivan, racing out of Corning, California, on her Gann Custom/Sullivan Racing Suzuki ran a 7.113 second E.T. at 187.23 MPH in the third round of qualifying. She will face third fastest qualifier Karen Stoffer in Sunday's first round of eliminations.

Rider Team & Bike E.T. MPH
1. Douglas Horne Horne Racing Buell 6.936 191.84
2. Hector Arana Lucas Oil Buell 6.954 191.89
3. Karen Stoffer Geico Suzuki 6.971 192.33
4. Matt Smith Nitrofish Suzuki 6.978 190.62
5. Andrew Hines Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines 6.989 191.00
6. Steve Johnson Steve Johnson Racing Wyotech Suzuki 7.001 194.07
7. Craig Treble Team Scream Suzuki 7.001 192.80
8. David Hope VRoom Racing Buell 7.005 188.99
9. Eddie Krawiec Screamin' Eagle/Vance & Hines 7.011 189.04
10. Matt Guidera Rocklin Motorsports Buell 7.041 184.02
11. Shawn Gann Rum Bum Racing Buell 7.045 186.77
12. Joe DeSantis Team Joey D Suzuki 7.054 183.07
13. Mike Berry MB Machining/ LAT Racing Oil Buell 7.067 188.33
14. Katie Sullivan Gann Custom/Sullivan Racing Suzuki 7.113 187.23
15. Michael Phillips MPR & Damn Sport Suzuki 7.114 193.93
16. Wesley Wells Kendall Suzuki 7.168 188.54

Did Not Qualify
17. Redell Harris Master P/No Limit Record Suzuki 7.173 182.35
18. Jim Underdahl Suzuki Extended Protection 7.194 190.75
19. Junior Pippin Stone Mountain & Granite Mountain
Harley Davidson Buell 7.208 189.66
20. Bailey Whitaker Rum Bum Buell 7.977 185.59
21. Ryan Schnitz Team Muzzy Kawasaki 9.329 183.22


Comments are closed.